Question about XBee

Bluetooth, XBee, RF......

Question about XBee

Postby tst » Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:09 pm

Hi,

I am a newbie in XBee. I got a lot of question about it. So I need your all professional suggestion and answer. Thanks first.
I have 3 circuit board with 1 main board, 2 sensor board. Each board has XBee respectively.
The two sensor board I named it as sensor 1 and sensor 2 and both of it sending the data to mainboard via XBee. Mainboard should be able to differentiate which data of sensor is send and perform certain function according to data receive, example plotting two different graph. Sensor 1 and Sensor 2 are ideally send the data simultaneously to main board( short distance).
My problem:
1. How does sensor 1 and sensor 2 know the address of main board and send the data exactly to mainboard? Is it related to baudrate? I confuse what is baudrate(=.=)"
2. Is it possible sensor 1 and sensor 2 send the data at the same time to mainboard? (Xbee of the mainboard able to receive the 2 data at the same?)
3. As i mention just now, mainboard are able to differentiate which data of sensor is sent. So, is it possible that I add one bit of header in each of the data to check which data is it? example: header of data sensor 1 is "1" ; and header of sensor 2 is "2".
4. What is pear to pear architecture? I saw this is one of the function for Xbee. Is it my project is based on pear to pear architecture? or Master-Slave relationship?

This is still a fresh idea and I do not know yet what is the next problem. I hopes you all can give any suggestion and idea to improve it. Thanks again.
tst
Apprentice

Re: Question about XBee

Postby yonghui » Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:34 pm

hi,

i recommend u to use either API1 pr API2 of the Xbee. its good option.
in API mode. u will know which module is sending, because the address of the sender is included in the data packet.