question about UC00A and XBee module

Bluetooth, XBee, RF......

question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby FakeSheep » Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:34 pm

1)I would like to ask is UC00A TxRx pins can connect to XBee TxRx pins directly??
Becoz that UC00A TxRx pins is work at 5V and XBee module is at 3.3V.
If it can, is it mean that XBee module Vcc (pin1) can only power up at 3.3V,but XBee TxRx (pin2 and pin3)can work at 5V?

Because im confusing with the "XBee Standalone Control & Monitoring" schematic part which labeled "5V USB to UART",
i know that USB to UART 5V pin is not connected with the XBee module in that schematic diagram, but not sure if both TxRx pins can be connect directly.
FakeSheep
Novice
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:13 pm

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby ober » Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:33 am

FakeSheep WROTE:1)I would like to ask is UC00A TxRx pins can connect to XBee TxRx pins directly??
Becoz that UC00A TxRx pins is work at 5V and XBee module is at 3.3V.
If it can, is it mean that XBee module Vcc (pin1) can only power up at 3.3V,but XBee TxRx (pin2 and pin3)can work at 5V?

Because im confusing with the "XBee Standalone Control & Monitoring" schematic part which labeled "5V USB to UART",
i know that USB to UART 5V pin is not connected with the XBee module in that schematic diagram, but not sure if both TxRx pins can be connect directly.


From what we have tested, it work fine.
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby shahrul » Sat Jul 16, 2011 4:27 pm

ober WROTE:From what we have tested, it work fine.

Good to hear this. I have thinking about this.
3.3V TX send to 5V RX. This working if 3.3V is hingher than high logic level.
5V TX send to 3.3V RX. This working if 5V signal not broken the device.
Since, Cytron have tested, I'm glad to apply that.
User avatar
shahrul
Professional
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Selangor

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby zxteh » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:13 am

Is it we direct connect the pin Tx of UC00A to Rx of XBee and vice-versa is not breake the XBee device which just have 3.3V for its VCC?
and what is the code needed in GUI in Visual Basic for UC00A to direct interface with XBee device which act as transceiver?
Thanks. Kindly waiting your reply.
zxteh
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby shahrul » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:35 am

zxteh WROTE:Is it we direct connect the pin Tx of UC00A to Rx of XBee and vice-versa is not breake the XBee device which just have 3.3V for its VCC?
and what is the code needed in GUI in Visual Basic for UC00A to direct interface with XBee device which act as transceiver?
Thanks. Kindly waiting your reply.

Yes, directly connect XBee with UC00A is not damage. If you want safer, you can put resistor from 5V TX to 3.3V RX. Interface with GUI in VB can use Serial Communication in VB. Here is example.
User avatar
shahrul
Professional
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Selangor

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby zxteh » Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:02 am

shahrul WROTE:
zxteh WROTE:Is it we direct connect the pin Tx of UC00A to Rx of XBee and vice-versa is not breake the XBee device which just have 3.3V for its VCC?
and what is the code needed in GUI in Visual Basic for UC00A to direct interface with XBee device which act as transceiver?
Thanks. Kindly waiting your reply.

Yes, directly connect XBee with UC00A is not damage. If you want safer, you can put resistor from 5V TX to 3.3V RX. Interface with GUI in VB can use Serial Communication in VB. Here is example.

How is the connection of XBee device in the sparkfun board?
how u make a circuit with the 4 pin to direct connect to UC00A?
zxteh
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby shahrul » Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:34 am

zxteh WROTE:How is the connection of XBee device in the sparkfun board?
how u make a circuit with the 4 pin to direct connect to UC00A?

I don't know how sparkfun board look like. I have give you the schematic, it's only 5V, GND, RX and TX either connect to PIC or UC00A, is same.
User avatar
shahrul
Professional
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Selangor

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby zxteh » Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:04 pm

shahrul WROTE:
zxteh WROTE:How is the connection of XBee device in the sparkfun board?
how u make a circuit with the 4 pin to direct connect to UC00A?

I don't know how sparkfun board look like. I have give you the schematic, it's only 5V, GND, RX and TX either connect to PIC or UC00A, is same.


so how is your schematic look like at your xbee design without using skxbee board directly connect it to the comport?
zxteh
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:37 pm

Re: question about UC00A and XBee module

Postby shahrul » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:21 pm

zxteh WROTE:so how is your schematic look like at your xbee design without using skxbee board directly connect it to the comport?

1. UC00A GND connect to XBee GND
2. UC00A TX connect to XBee RX
3. UC00A RX connect to XBee TX
4. UC00A 5V connect to 3.3V regulator and the 3.3V connect to 3.3V XBee
User avatar
shahrul
Professional
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Selangor


Return to Wireless Device

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests