GSM Modem

Bluetooth, XBee, RF......

GSM Modem

Postby low5545 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:21 pm

What is the typical carrier for the GSM Modem? Is the GSM Modem from Cytron working good?
low5545
Discoverer

Re: GSM Modem

Postby shahrul » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:25 pm

low5545 WROTE:What is the typical carrier for the GSM Modem? Is the GSM Modem from Cytron working good?

What is mean typical carrier? I have use GSM Modem from Cytron before and it's working good.
shahrul
Professional

Postby ABSF » Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:11 pm

low5545 WROTE:What is the typical carrier for the GSM Modem? Is the GSM Modem from Cytron working good?

Though I've never used this GSM modem before, I think it should be a dual carriers modem capable of using Celcom, Digi and Maxis SIM cards.

The operating frequency / carrier for the 3 telecom companies are
CELCOM - GSM900/GSM1800
Digi GSM 1800
Maxis GSM 900

Just like your handphones, you should be able to use all the 3 companies sim cards if you just buy one type of phone. Correct me if I am wrong. Celcom is upgrading to GSM1800 to cater for wider bandwidth. Read the following sites:

List of GSM cell phone frequencies in use by country
http://allworldcellphones.com/gsm-frequencies-list.htm

Celcom - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celcom

Allen
The next war will determine NOT who is right BUT what is left.
ABSF
Professional

Postby robosang » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:58 am

Yup, not really sure what do you mean by carrier.... the frequency? I think is like what Allen said, it depends on your SIM card and service provider.

Recently I receive SMS notification from Cytron once my order from them is processed. I heard they are using the GSM modem that they sell to send the SMS, great feature! :mrgreen: Like it!
robosang
Expert

Postby shahrul » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:07 am