[WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Bluetooth, XBee, RF......

[WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby billiepek » Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:57 pm

Hi there,

I have a question regarding with Cytron Bluetooth Module.

I found that there is no compatible port in order to connect the Bluetooth module with Digilent Spartan 3E Starter Kit FPGA Board.

Last time the Admin told me the Bluetooth module needs UART.

Is there any adapters are needed to overcome this problem?

Many thanks.

Regards,
BilliePek

***UPDATE***

Here is the details about Spartan 3E Starter Kit:
http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Det ... d=S3EBOARD
billiepek
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby ober » Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:40 am

BlueBee is 3.3V operate, I am not sure what is the operating voltage of the Spartan FPGA board. There is no ready made adapter for it to plug BlueBee.

Yes, the BlueBee is using UART to communicate with microcontroller or any host. I see there is a RS232 port on the Spartan board, so you might be able to do some interface, example level shifter for the BlueBee to connect with the Spartan board. Or, try to check the schematic of Spartan board, where are the RX and TX being connected, hack the pi. And if it is 3.3V, you can directly connect to BlueBee UART pin.
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby billiepek » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:11 pm

Hi ober!

Thanks for the reply.

Do I need to make a DIY interface?

Sorry for many asking, many thanks.
billiepek
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby yonghui » Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:07 pm

u will need to check your FPGA board, if it has UART at 3.3V level then u can directly connect to the Bluetooth module.
otherwise if there is only RS232 voltage level, then u will need to do level shifting. Cytron bluetooth module can only accept 3.3V level. higher voltage will damage the module.
thanks&regards,
yh
yonghui
Moderator
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:27 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby billiepek » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:59 pm

yonghui WROTE:u will need to check your FPGA board, if it has UART at 3.3V level then u can directly connect to the Bluetooth module.
otherwise if there is only RS232 voltage level, then u will need to do level shifting. Cytron bluetooth module can only accept 3.3V level. higher voltage will damage the module.


Hi yonghui!
Thanks for your reply.

I'll try to check with the UART thing later from the datasheet.
I don't understand much with term of "level shifting".
Is it DIY using breadboard or what?
billiepek
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby robosang » Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:36 pm

Level shifting should be the voltage level shifting. What they mean is due to the different voltage level of Bluetooth module and the FPGA board, so you need to have something to interface in between to get proper operation voltage for both side.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: [WTA] Cytron Bluetooth Module

Postby billiepek » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:11 am

robosang WROTE:Level shifting should be the voltage level shifting. What they mean is due to the different voltage level of Bluetooth module and the FPGA board, so you need to have something to interface in between to get proper operation voltage for both side.


Thanks for the clarification. I'm working with it right now. Thanks a lot. :)

Regards,
Taufiq
billiepek
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:47 pm


Return to Wireless Device

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron