Configure xbee from arduino board

Bluetooth, XBee, RF......

Configure xbee from arduino board

Postby keanann » Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:55 am

Im using Xbee s1 with cytron xbee shield on arduino uno. (TX:USB, RX:USB)

I need to setup the Xbee setting using arduino coding without XCTU or Putty (not using laptop).
After Serial.print("+++"); ,the expecting "ok" is not showing up.

From arduino tutorial from arduino.cc .
To configure it from the Arduino board, you'll need to have the switch in the Micro position(Arduino Wireless SD shield).
http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoWirelessShield

So, which TX and RX pins on shield should i connect to configure xbee from arduino board?
thanks.
keanann
Fledgling
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:38 am

Re: Configure xbee from arduino board

Postby yonghui » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:51 am

I am unclear of what you are trying to do.

if you wan to communication from computer direct to XBEE module through the Arduino and Xbee shield:
1. load empty program or default LED blink program into the shield so that arduino wont use the Serial TX RX pin that interfere with the computer to Arduino Serial comunication.
2. Set the both jumpers on XBEE shield to USB.
3. open XCTU to key commands.

if u want to communicate to XBEE from Arduino board:
1. set the jumper to D0 and D1 for RX and TX respectively if u are going to use hardware serial pin on D0 and D1.
2. load your program to Arduino.

else you can use software serial with D2 D3, D8, D9, D10, D11 pins. set the jumper accordingly.


see cytron tutorial here: http://tutorial.cytron.com.my/2014/08/2 ... ee-shield/
thanks&regards,
yh
yonghui
Moderator
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:27 pm

Re: Configure xbee from arduino board

Postby MystizKhoo » Mon Mar 30, 2015 11:12 pm

Hi,

Q1: I think what keanann request is "how to configure xbee/skxbee by only using Arduino without XCTU" which i have the similar problem.
Is there any example coding to configure xbee's destination address (DHDL) by using arduino?

Q2: There is a hole on top of RSSI wording in SKxbee, is it connected to RSSI (pin6) of xBee?

Thanks!
Imagination should be used,
not to escape reality,
but to create it.
MystizKhoo
Freshie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:18 pm

Re: Configure xbee from arduino board

Postby Idris » Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:27 am

Hi, I got this information from Xbee datasheet.
xbee.png

My suggestion, try to put some delay between '+' characters. Example:
CODE: SELECT_ALL_CODE
delay(1000);
Serial.write('+');
delay(200);
Serial.write('+');
delay(200);
Serial.write('+');
delay(1000);

Try to adjust the delay time.
Cytron Technologies invest time and resources providing tutorial, training and support for STEM education and maker movement. We need your support by purchasing products from Cytron Technologies. Thanks.
http://www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
Idris
Moderator
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:28 pm
Location: Pulau Pinang


Return to Wireless Device

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests

cron