RFID Voltage Required

RFID reader, Reader/Writer, Tag.....

RFID Voltage Required

Postby dashboyd » Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:23 am

1)Hi, i am using Wiegand RFID reader.The manufacturer says the RFID reader operates under 12V.I am tested using 5V & 9V but it does not works?Why it does not work under 5V & 9V ?

2) What does this programming source code says?What is the purpose of using this code for wiegand reader?

//read Wiegand Format (26bit binary) card data
for(i=0; i<26;i++)
{
while(input(PIN_E0)==1 && input(PIN_E1)==1);
if(input(PIN_E1)==0 )
{
if(i!=0 && i != 25)
{
shift_left(buffer,3,0);
}
}
if(input(PIN_E0)==0)
{
if(i!=0 && i != 25)
{
shift_left(buffer,3,1);
}
}
delay_us(500);
}
dashboyd
Freshie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:08 am

Re: RFID Voltage Required

Postby joliza » Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:37 pm

Hi..
May i know where you got that RFID Reader operates under 12V? I have check the the Wiegand RFID and it operate in 12V. Another one, the programming sample code is from our website?
joliza
Novice
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:56 am

Re: RFID Voltage Required

Postby dashboyd » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:22 am

Hi !
1) My question is why the wiegand RFID reader cannot operate using 5V or 9V ? Some RFID reader operates using 5V but here why Wiegand RFID reader cannot operate using 5V or 9V?

2)Source code here is used for wiegand RFID project.I want the explanation & clear answer about that source code which can be very much useful for my project.
dashboyd
Freshie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:08 am

Re: RFID Voltage Required

Postby hyng » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:51 am

In the cytron product page, it already mentioned is 12VDC. Yes, others reader may work on 9V and below. We have no idea why it would not work on 5V and 9V.

A roughly idea on the code, when there is no card scanned, the E0 and E1 is in logic 1.
During the card is scanned, reader will transmit 26bit of data.From the code, it will see if either E0 or E1 goes low. If E1 goes low, meaning the incoming bit of data is logic 0, but if E0 goes low, than the bit is logic 1. And it will be saved in the buffer. It loops 26 times to get all the data.
User avatar
hyng
Moderator
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:35 am


Return to RFID

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron