Industry Robot arm

LED Blinking, Walking with Cytron Servo, Displaying RFID, Multi-function Mobile Robot......

Industry Robot arm

Postby wucc » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:14 am

Dear all expert,
i am new to robotic, hope you guys can provide some comment for what i am doing.
i am proposing a robot arm for my company's operation.
the robot arm need to have 6 DOF(included gripper). just like many other toy or educational kit. but it is expected to operate 24hour a day to replace manpower.
the function is
-to grabe a small pin from location A and
-move to location B to touch a point( small forces to be applied. expected about 1kg force).
-Turn the wrist and touch the point again( small forces to be applied. expected about 1kg force).
-move to location C and drop the pin
-repeat the steps.
i need to program it on laptop and transfer program to the arm in the production, then the arm will operate itself with laptop aside.
the expected distance reach is within 40cm.
although it is for industry use, it do not need to loaded with heavy weight. the pin it should lift up is about few grams.

I am thinking of two option: one is use Servo motor another is use DC brushless motor.
If i use servo motor, i will only need 6 of servo motors like D9150S or D7150S plus the SC16A servo controller will do.?
If i use DC motor(like MO-SPG-50-180K ), i will need driver(MD10B) for each motor and motor controller(PR10A)for each motor? correct me if i am wrong cos i am really a newbie.

what other things do i need to have( except structures).

Kindly advice.

Best regards,
wucc
Freshie

Re: Industry Robot arm

Postby aurora » Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:03 pm

Hi there. I need more information, like:

1. size of the pin (to determined the size of the gripper)
2. production speed (to determined the required speed of the arms)
3. precision/tolerance (to determined the type of motor)
4. isn't 1 kg a bit too high?