Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Discussion about projects that used PIC Microcontroller, Hardware Interface, Programming Algorithm and etc......

Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby waddah » Mon May 14, 2012 12:33 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm using MPLAB C18 for programming in C.
It's working very well all the time and still, but this time I faced:
CODE: SELECT_ALL_CODE
Halting build on first failure as requested


I wonder what the code size limitation is. I'm using many user defined functions and many if statements(not professional programmer )
I then disabled the HALT BUILD option from project settings, the result was :
CODE: SELECT_ALL_CODE
Skipping link step.  Not all sources built successfully.




software details :
CODE: SELECT_ALL_CODE
Language tool versions: mpasmwin.exe v5.37, mplink.exe v4.37, mcc18.exe v3.36, mplib.exe v4.37


your help is appreciated

Waddah
Waddah
waddah
Novice
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby waddah » Mon May 14, 2012 11:42 pm

solved already. :)
Waddah
waddah
Novice
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby ober » Tue May 15, 2012 4:18 pm

Good to hear that, but mind to share what is the solution and root-cause?
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby waddah » Fri May 18, 2012 5:07 pm

ober WROTE:Good to hear that, but mind to share what is the solution and root-cause?


Sure, it was my carelessness :lol: . I noticed when the code gets a bit bigger, the compiler will stop at a very 1st error. however I went to the indicated line but nothing, it just gives random place. Or it might be me who caused the compiler to get mad ;) . Anyway, my error was the brackets, "{" instead of "}" and vice versa or extra brackets.

the bracket highlighting was disabled by default installation, so I couldn't trace them properly.

I hope this helps.
Waddah
waddah
Novice
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:02 am

Re: Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby ABSF » Sat May 19, 2012 6:29 am

waddah WROTE:Sure, it was my carelessness . I noticed when the code gets a bit bigger, the compiler will stop at a very 1st error. however I went to the indicated line but nothing, it just gives random place. Or it might be me who caused the compiler to get mad . Anyway, my error was the brackets, "{" instead of "}" and vice versa or extra brackets.

the bracket highlighting was disabled by default installation, so I couldn't trace them properly.


So the problem is not due to program oversized.... only the amount of "{" and " }" brackets not balance....So next time when someone has the same complaints, I'll ask them tho refer to this thread.

Nice to learn something new.

Allen
The next war will determine NOT who is right BUT what is left.
User avatar
ABSF
Professional
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:32 am
Location: E Malaysia

Re: Halting build on first failure as requested. MPLAB C18

Postby robosang » Sat May 19, 2012 7:51 am

I guess the error is cost by { and }, it is a normal error beginner will get, and is quite difficult for compiler to point to correct place as you can actually put the bracket any place in your code.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm


Return to PIC Microcontroller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

cron