VB and DB9

Discussion about project that uses other controller, or non controller based project such as using logic gates, FPGA, ARM, Mechanical ....etc. Welcome to post it here

VB and DB9

Postby pic16 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 2:27 am

hello everyone,

i want to use visual basic to make the pin-3 (which is Transmit, i search online) of DB9 port from my laptop always have voltage come out, is that possible?
so i can use it to turn on my super bright LED when room is dark :P

but i fail to get the voltage :(

anyone can help?
Attachments
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg (6.58 KiB) Viewed 2192 times
i'm poor in english and just an electronic hobbyist.
pic16
Amateur
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Earth

Re: VB and DB9

Postby pic16 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:10 am

here my VB stuff with visual studio 2013...
i'm poor in english and just an electronic hobbyist.
pic16
Amateur
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Earth

Re: VB and DB9

Postby ober » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:52 pm

Why don use multimeter to measure the voltage first?
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: VB and DB9

Postby pic16 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:33 pm

ober WROTE:Why don use multimeter to measure the voltage first?



LED blink just awhile then very quickly gone...
i need keep to press and release the ON button in VB hundred time to keep the voltage??? :o
i'm poor in english and just an electronic hobbyist.
pic16
Amateur
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Earth

Re: VB and DB9

Postby Idris » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:55 am

Instead of using TX pin, how about controlling the DTR pin on DB9 connector?
Cytron Technologies invest time and resources providing tutorial, training and support for STEM education and maker movement. We need your support by purchasing products from Cytron Technologies. Thanks.
http://www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
Idris
Moderator
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:28 pm
Location: Pulau Pinang

Re: VB and DB9

Postby pic16 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:09 am

Idris WROTE:Instead of using TX pin, how about controlling the DTR pin on DB9 connector?



thanks for the guide, after recoding and change pin i got the power from DTR :lol:

one more question, if i stubborn want to use that TX for continuing supply voltage, it is possible?
i'm poor in english and just an electronic hobbyist.
pic16
Amateur
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Earth

Re: VB and DB9

Postby ober » Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:35 pm

Try it, don need to wait for answer. Learn by trying and understand it.
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm


Return to Misc Project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests