problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Autonomous Robot, Manual Robot, DC Motor Driver, Stepper Motor Driver, Servo, Multi PWM chip.....

problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Postby cheekang » Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:58 pm

my robot are needed to use 12 servo motor move together.. i now supplying 5v /5.5 A to servo board and circuit board with microcontroller 16f877A. i know that once 12 sevo motor move together,the voltage use will drop and cause the motor cannot work. so i add with 16V 4700uF capacitor.but the problem still the same. so what should i do now ?
cheekang
Freshie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Postby hyng » Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:31 am

Can u upload the schematic or photo of your robot.. so that we can verify the problem. Have you measure the current used? what type of power supply are you using? if you are using adapter, normally the spec 5A will not reach. Have you tested with few servo motor first to test the functionality of the SC16A? Another thing is please do not share the power of main controller with the servo power.
User avatar
hyng
Moderator
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:35 am

Re: problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Postby cheekang » Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:51 pm

i believe . my problem is cause by sharing the power with the microcontroller.i know sharing the power may cause voltage unstable .so i think i will use different power source. but i wonder why cannot share ? ... can explain to me , as a knowledge.
cheekang
Freshie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Re: problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Postby robosang » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:22 am

cheekang WROTE:i believe . my problem is cause by sharing the power with the microcontroller.i know sharing the power may cause voltage unstable .so i think i will use different power source. but i wonder why cannot share ? ... can explain to me , as a knowledge.


Em...... actually is kind of easy concept :D , try using a power supply that have volt meter and amp meter, tune the output voltage to let say 12V, short the both the output terminal, you will notice that the current will increase until where you tuned it and voltage will drop. Once the current is not big enough to supply to the load, in this case, short! The voltage will drop. So if voltage drop, your system will go RESET causing unstable operation.

Motor not only consume high current during operation, it also introduce what we call noise to power line as it intend to have back EMF and also magnetic interference...... which will further cause unstable condition. Hope this help.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: problem facing SC16A ....need help ....

Postby spammermanager » Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:51 am

What type of power supply do i need to drive 16 servos simultaneously using SC16A?
spammermanager
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:48 am


Return to Robot Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests