PSC28A with the Velleman K8046

Autonomous Robot, Manual Robot, DC Motor Driver, Stepper Motor Driver, Servo, Multi PWM chip.....

Re: PSC28A with the Velleman K8046

Postby kl84 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:16 pm

shaneb24 WROTE:i got it to work but what really confused me was that the PSC28A outputs to K8023 did not share a common ground

What do u mean? You didn't connect the ground together? U need to do so...
User avatar
kl84
Amateur
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:14 pm

Re: PSC28A with the Velleman K8046

Postby shaneb24 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:45 pm

kl84 WROTE:
shaneb24 WROTE:i got it to work but what really confused me was that the PSC28A outputs to K8023 did not share a common ground

What do u mean? You didn't connect the ground together? U need to do so...



when i ground the two device's( The Velleman K8023s with PSC28A) , the led on K8023R turns off and unresponsive ..
shaneb24
Freshie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:18 am

Re: PSC28A with the Velleman K8046

Postby robosang » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:59 pm

Well.... a photo of the whole setup should clear the question. Might be routed via other wiring path.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: PSC28A with the Velleman K8046

Postby ABSF » Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:37 am

robosang WROTE:Well.... a photo of the whole setup should clear the question. Might be routed via other wiring path.


shaneb24 WROTE:when i ground the two device's( The Velleman K8023s with PSC28A) , the led on K8023R turns off and unresponsive ..


Yes, I agree with robosang too. How you (o.p.) connect the supply to K8023R and the PSC28A is very important. If you read the schematics carefully, the DC supply of sender 8023S is fed from the 8023R receiver and the communication signal is riding on the DC lines(8.8V). The GND2 on the 8023S should be floating as you can see from the cct diag that it is labled as GND2 instead of GND.

If the GND of PSC28A is somehow shorted to the GND of 8023R unintentionally (through the 3-pin power plug). The whole thing would not work if the GND2 is connected to the GND of PSC28A as the signalling would be effectively shorted to ground.

Allen
The next war will determine NOT who is right BUT what is left.
User avatar
ABSF
Professional
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:32 am
Location: E Malaysia

Previous

Return to Robot Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests