MDS40A need help

Autonomous Robot, Manual Robot, DC Motor Driver, Stepper Motor Driver, Servo, Multi PWM chip.....

MDS40A need help

Postby sennian » Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:58 pm

I first tested my new MDS40A smart driver by connecting a 12V source to the power source, a motor at the motor terminals. I set up mode for pwm input mode and connect it to my microcontroller. After testing for a while, when I removed the motor connection and reconnect it afterwards, it doesn't work anymore. Tried even pressing the button A and B but nothing happens (button A and B are supposed to work if there's power source and motor connected isn't it) and the error LED kept blinking for 2 times. Can anyone tell me what is wrong? Why even the A button and B button don't work
sennian
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:37 am

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby robosang » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:33 pm

have check the error LED blinking twice indicate what status? They should list it out.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby sennian » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:36 pm

input error will cause the error LED to blink twice. The thing is, shouldn't the test buttons work the same even if you have input error?
sennian
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:37 am

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby robosang » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:43 am

Not sure, I don have this product, need to wait Cytron staff to verify that. Is there any quick test procedure to verify it?
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby waiweng83 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:34 am

sennian WROTE:I first tested my new MDS40A smart driver by connecting a 12V source to the power source, a motor at the motor terminals. I set up mode for pwm input mode and connect it to my microcontroller. After testing for a while, when I removed the motor connection and reconnect it afterwards, it doesn't work anymore. Tried even pressing the button A and B but nothing happens (button A and B are supposed to work if there's power source and motor connected isn't it) and the error LED kept blinking for 2 times. Can anyone tell me what is wrong? Why even the A button and B button don't work



When there is error detected, the MDS40A will stop working including the onboard push button. This is for the safety precaution.
In your case, the MDS40A shows input error because when it's first powered up, the PWM signal received is not 0.
According to page 24 of the user manual (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Ci1 ... mwMV8/edit) :

The Analog/PWM signal to stop the motor (2.5V if Sign-Magnitude mode is off, 0V otherwise) must be available when the SmartDrive40 is turned on. Else, the driver will show Input Error until the correct signal is available.


This is to prevent the motor running accidentally when powered up.


If you want to test the functionality of the MDS40A, the easiest way is to set it to PWM Single Channel, Sign-Magnitude Mode (1001 0001), use a wire to connect the In1 to Gnd, and you can run the motor by pressing the onboard push button.
With the power of dream, nothing is impossible...
User avatar
waiweng83
Moderator
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:17 pm

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby sennian » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:52 pm

Thanks for the help... It's working fine now
sennian
Freshie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:37 am

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby Muhammad Syafiq » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:45 pm

Hey guys, I've problem with MDS40A.. I'm using PIC microcontroller, but I cannot stop the motor. The motor still running even I didn't push the start button. Please help me :(
Muhammad Syafiq
Fledgling
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:35 pm

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby ober » Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:24 am

Hi, can you show us the hardware setup? Which start button? The test buttons on MDS40A? Which mode you choose and what is the code doing?
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby john012428 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:26 am

can i know I download the sample code given. the sample code can't compile. 'build failed'...why..?
i use mplab IDE v8.63 with HI-TECH universal toolssuite... and pic16f877A...
john012428
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:19 am

Re: MDS40A need help

Postby john012428 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:32 am

sennian WROTE:I first tested my new MDS40A smart driver by connecting a 12V source to the power source, a motor at the motor terminals. I set up mode for pwm input mode and connect it to my microcontroller. After testing for a while, when I removed the motor connection and reconnect it afterwards, it doesn't work anymore. Tried even pressing the button A and B but nothing happens (button A and B are supposed to work if there's power source and motor connected isn't it) and the error LED kept blinking for 2 times. Can anyone tell me what is wrong? Why even the A button and B button don't work



try this http://tutorial.cytron.com.my/2012/07/2 ... ng-mds40a/

http://tutorial.cytron.com.my/wp-conten ... erview.jpg
john012428
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:19 am

Next

Return to Robot Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests