2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Autonomous Robot, Manual Robot, DC Motor Driver, Stepper Motor Driver, Servo, Multi PWM chip.....

2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby patrickNX9420 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:06 pm

Dear all,

Why can't I use 40 Pins dsPIC Start-Up Kit (SKDS40A) with a microcontroller (IC dsPIC30F4011) to control 2 units of 16 Channel Servo Controller (SC16A) so that the controllers (SC16A) can manage a tilt sensor module (SN-TILT-MOD), a ultrasonic ranging sensor (SN-HC-SR04), an auto-calibrating line sensor (LSS05), 24 units of motors, etc? Please help here :?
patrickNX9420
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby robosang » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:58 pm

A bit confused with your question and title.
patrickNX9420 WROTE:
24 units of motors, etc? Please help here :?


24 DC motor is 18 servo + 6 DC motor?

From the question itself, I am assuming you want to connect LSS05, ultrasonic, SC16A, and another 24 DC motor. But the title seem to have different story, 18 servo is control by two SC16A, right? So left 6 extra DC motor, correct?

Frankly, 24 DC motor alone and if you use lock-antiphase method, you will need 24 output pins. How many IO pin does the dsPIC have? 30?

Besides, base on the title, you plan to use the SC16A to control DC motor? What type of DC motor and how is the connection?

Confused.... :?: :?:
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby gadgetng » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:46 am

Q: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?
Answer: 2 SC16A can control 18 servo motors but not 6 DC motors

Hope this helps
gadgetng
Discoverer
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:20 am

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby patrickNX9420 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:47 pm

Hi Gadgetng and Robosang,

Thanks for your replies. Actually, I need a central processing unit (CPU) to send commands to 2 units 2SC16A to control 18-24 units servomotors after the CPU receives inputs from those sensors. Is it possible to get 40 pin dsPIC start-up kit to do it? Or I need to use other CPU here :?
patrickNX9420
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby gadgetng » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:19 am

patrickNX9420 WROTE:Hi Gadgetng and Robosang,

Thanks for your replies. Actually, I need a central processing unit (CPU) to send commands to 2 units 2SC16A to control 18-24 units servomotors after the CPU receives inputs from those sensors. Is it possible to get 40 pin dsPIC start-up kit to do it? Or I need to use other CPU here :?


First you need to know how many analog pins and digital pins can be used for dsPIC.
Second, pls calculate the total analog and digital pins needs for the sensors, servo controllers and etc.
After that, make a decision whether the PIC fit your project.

Example, i am using 16F876A and i will use 5 IR01A sensor, 2 SN-GP2Y0A21 and one SD02B. The total IO i needed are 5 digital input, 2 analog, and one UART. Since 16F876A has a total of 22 IO including 5 channel of Analog and one UART. It is enough for me.
gadgetng
Discoverer
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:20 am

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby patrickNX9420 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:08 pm

Hi Gadgetng,

Many thanks for your great help. I'm actually from mechanical engineering background. Last questions: Can I connect 1 unit SK40C with two units 2C16A as shown in the attached picture and change DC power adaptor socket of SK40C into a servo motor power source connector type :?
Attachments
Interconnection.png
patrickNX9420
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: 2 SC16A can't control 18 servomotors and 6 DC motors?

Postby gadgetng » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:11 pm

patrickNX9420 WROTE:Hi Gadgetng,

Many thanks for your great help. I'm actually from mechanical engineering background. Last questions: Can I connect 1 unit SK40C with two units 2C16A as shown in the attached picture and change DC power adaptor socket of SK40C into a servo motor power source connector type :?


Can I connect 1 unit SK40C with two units 2C16A as shown in the attached picture. YES
change DC power adaptor socket of SK40C into a servo motor power source connector type.
Why would you like to do so? Your power supply comes in servo motor connector type? It will be difficult to change. There are Vin pin on the SK40C, you may connect the power supply to it. Or get a DC Jack http://www.cytron.com.my/viewProduct.php?pcode=CN-126-DC
gadgetng
Discoverer
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:20 am


Return to Robot Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron