Pickit2 Vpp Voltage Level Error

Programmer, In-Circuit Debugger, PIC Start-Up Kit, Memory Interface...

Pickit2 Vpp Voltage Level Error

Postby noien » Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:51 am

I had been using pickit2 for around 5 months and this is the first time that it pop up this kind of error.

I use
USB ICSP PIC Programmer V2010
ICSP Programmer Socket

This is the error I got from pickit2.
This is the solution in the usermanual which I cant understand.

Is it my PIC faulty or the programmer is faulty.I try to use my PIC and the code that is in it is still working fine.
Pls help.
Thank you
noien

Re: Pickit2 Vpp Voltage Level Error

Postby ABSF » Thu Mar 17, 2011 4:47 pm

Since you're using socket to program your 16F877 externally, You should tick the +5V square to supply +5V to your pic.

Allen
The next war will determine NOT who is right BUT what is left.
ABSF
Professional

Postby Brian Griffin » Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:26 pm

Something is shorting the circuit inside, hence the Vpp voltage level error. You may need to double check the connections.
PIC - UIC00B from Cytron (replacement for my broken PICKit 2), Pickit 3, MikroC for PIC
dsPIC - MikroC for dsPIC, mikromedia board (dsPIC33)
AVR - AVR Dragon
Parallax - Prop tool
Brian Griffin
Enthusiast

Postby noien » Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:43 pm

I do tick for the 5v and since the pickit2 already been showing this since yesterday.so I forget to tick it since it is a screen shot

I did the troubleshoot using the pickit2 troubleshoot.
The first one is to test the Vdd and Vss pin(pin11 and 12).I use a pin header and put in the socket but the multimeter show 0 although it is suppose to be 5V.I had tested with the Vpp pin pull down and just let it be.It will show 0 in the multimeter.

The second step is to test Vpp when the the troubleshoot program will produce 12V but in the end it is still 0V

:cry:

Is the steps done by me is correct?
Thank you
noien

Postby ABSF » Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:54 pm