g15 - fail to upload sketch

LINIX Brushless, VEXTA Brushless, RC Servo, DC Geared, Linear, Stepper, Tamiya.....

g15 - fail to upload sketch

Postby bob » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:00 pm

hi
im trying to set id for my g15 servo but every time i try it fail

im using arduino 1.0.5 + arduino mega 2560 r2 + g15 driver
wiring connection is like suggested by cytron.
i tried to upload other example sketch (basic), it also fail
then i tried w/out the tx/rx jumper cable, it success.

did i do wrong some where?
bob
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:52 pm

Re: g15 - fail to upload sketch

Postby robosang » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:18 pm

If you are using Arduino, you should use the shield for G15.

Studying the G15 driver schematic, you will know that it is using UART to transmit and receive data to/from G15 8-)

Arduino will use UART to load program too, so they interfere it.
robosang
Expert
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: g15 - fail to upload sketch

Postby bob » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:47 pm

thank you for reply

do you mean that if i want to use arduino + g15 servo, the only way to do it
i have to use shield and not the driver?

what if i want to use other mcu, like pic, does it interfere too?
bob
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:52 pm

Re: g15 - fail to upload sketch

Postby ober » Sun Sep 15, 2013 8:24 am

robosang is correct, the g15 driver is using the UART line and loading program into Arduino needs UART too. This happen in many other UART shield such as Xbee shield. The trick is to disconnect one of the UART line during program loading. Just try and see, I cannot remember which line.

If you use other MCU, it depends on how you load program. If loading program still require UART, the interference might still be there.

You still can use the g15 driver.
Ober Choo
Cytron Technologies Sdn Bhd
www.cytron.com.my
User avatar
ober
Moderator
 
Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:03 pm

Re: g15 - fail to upload sketch

Postby yonghui » Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:42 am

if you are using Cytron G15 Shield Library, u will need to open the G15.h in library, and change the following code:
#define TxMode LOW
#define RxMode HIGH

to

#define TxMode HIGH
#define RxMode LOW


if you are using library on G15 driver page from cytron then its ok.


when loading program to the Arduino, disconnect the G15 driver, connect it only after programming is done.
thanks&regards,
yh
yonghui
Moderator
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:27 pm


Return to DC Motor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron